Bittrex Blocks Trading Of 32 Cryptocurrencies For US Citizens

On June 7, the Bittrex exchange has revealed that it will stop United States users from trading in 32 cryptocurrencies from June 21 onwards. This list of tokens include QTUM and STORJ.

Non-US users will still be available to trade in these tokens. Bittrex also mentions that US users can sell these tokens for markets available to US customers, cancel open orders or withdraw their assets.

However, even after the markets become unavailable, US users will have a few options at their disposal, as users can withdraw or hold the affected tokens in their wallet as long Bittrex International supports a market for those tokens.

The Seattle-based exchange was recently forced to close its New York office after it failed to obtain a BitLicense from the New York Department of Financial Services (NYDFS). The latter stated that Bittrex failed to meet listed legal and regulatory compliance requirements.